Business Tech World

ATM’s secret ballot bid for Ramaphosa vote of no confidence rejected

National Assembly Speaker Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula has rejected the African Transformation Movement (ATM) request to hold a secret ballot in parliament.

This pertains to the party motion of distrust against President Cyril Ramaphosa.

The motion was directed against Ramaphosa’s leadership in February 2020 over the sealing of his Bank statements related to being campaign 2017 including the ANC presidency.

legal battle

The ATM had resubmitted submitted their motion of no confidence to Parliament following a ruling by the Supreme Court of Apperl (SCA) in December 2021.

The party had been granted leave to appeal the judgment of the Western Cape High Court in the SCA.

The Supreme Court previously ruled in favor of Thandi Modise, former Speaker of the National Assembly, who decided not to grant the ATM’s request to hold the vote of no confidence by secret ballot.

ALSO READ: Open vote for confidence vote Ramaphosa ‘challenges logic,’ says ATM president

The ATM then wanted Modise’s decision reviewed and quashed.

However, the SCA found that Modise had misunderstood her discretion in the secret ballot.

In its ruling, the appeals court ordered that the ATM’s request be resubmitted to the new National Assembly Speaker for reconsideration.

No political environment

ATM, which has only two seats in parliament, wanted Mapisa-Nqakula to decide whether to vote on the no-confidence motion by secret ballot or open ballot, which the chairman has since rejected.

The speaker explained her reasons for the rejection and stated that she did not believe that a secret ballot would serve the interests of democracy.

Mapisa-Nqakula considered a number of issues, including “the battle of candidates” in the run-up to the ANCs 55th National Elective Conference of the ANC in December and other things.

“The speaker found nothing to indicate that there is currently violence or any other threat related to any of these circumstances, other than what are normal tensions in a democracy,” parliament spokesman Moloto Mothapo said in a statement on Wednesday.

READ MORE: ATM’s vote of no-confidence in Ramaphosa will be put to a public vote next week

Speaker is pleased that these factors do not lead her to conclude that openness and transparency should not prevail, as in her view they are events that do not indicate a poisoned and highly charged atmosphere, but rather events that only occur when all systems in general are functioning within our constitutional democracy.

“The speaker reiterated that no political environment will be completely free from political tensions, both between and within parties,” Mothapo continued.

Mothapo further said that Mapisa-Nqakula will request the Program Committee to schedule the motion once the chairman has completed consultations as “prescribed by the rules of the National Assembly”.

The ATM has already been notified of the Speaker’s decision.

“Yes, it is true that we received the letter this afternoon,” said ATM spokesman Sibusiso Mncwabe. The The Vanir-exodus on Wednesday.

Mncwabe also confirmed that the party leadership would meet to discuss the matter.

DA motion of no confidence

Meanwhile, Parliament also confirmed the receipt of: motion of distrust submitted by the Democratic Alliance (DA

“The president has also received a draft no-confidence vote in the executive branch, excluding the president, proposed by the leader of the official opposition. She is thinking about it and will communicate her decision in due course,” Mothapo added.

The DA filed a no-confidence motion against The whole cabinet of Ramaphosa this week.

During Monday’s State of the Nation Address (Sona) debate at Cape Town City Hall, DA leader John Steenhuisen tore into Ramaphosa for its underperforming ministers.

READ MORE: ANC is not from DA, Mantashe says after no-confidence vote

Steenhuisen said a number of ministers have not fulfilled their duties, including Police Minister Bheki Cele, former State Security Minister Ayanda Dlodlo, Tourism Minister Lindiwe Sisulu, Mineral Resources and Energy Minister Gwede Mantashe, Public Works and Infrastructure Minister Patricia de Lille , Basic Education Minister Angie Motshekga, Small Business Development Minister Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams, Transport Minister Fikile Mbalula, Trade and Industry Minister Ebrahim Patel and Social Development Minister Lindiwe Zulu.

Additional reporting by Thapelo Lekabe and Narissa Subramoney

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.