Business Tech World

Killarney Prepares For Season Opener Extreme Festival

The 2022 National Extreme Festival series kicks off this Saturday at the Western Cape Killarney circuit, with plenty of clues to a championship season.

At the top of the schedule are two Global Touring Car races, with 23 drivers to tackle the opening laps of the country’s most important title race at the circuit.

Defending South African champion Robert Wolk (Chemical Logistics Toyota Corolla) will face strong opponents, led by Gazoo Racing Toyota Corolla team leader Michael van Rooyen, plus Volkswagen Golf GTI drivers Daniel Rowe and Jonathan Mogotsi.

2022 Extreme Festival Killarney Opener
With 15 cars in action, the SupaCup spectacle in Killarney should be excellent. Photo: Dave Ledbitter.

Audi returns to battle with Formula 1600 champion Andrew Rackstraw (RDSA Audi S3) and Bradley Liebenberg (Sparco Audi S3) while Gazoo Toyota Corolla driver Saood Variawa, plus Julian van der Watt (Ford Focus) and Mandla Mdakane (Chemical Logistics Toyota Corolla) will finish the field.

A total of 15 SupaCup entries lead Jeffrey Kruger (Steamsure SupaPolo), chased by the likes of Keagan Masters (SupaPolo), Jason Campos (Turn 1 SupaPolo), Leyton Fourie (Express Hire SupaPolo), Mikaeel Pitamber (ToysRUs SupaPolo), Keegan Campos ( SupaPolo) and Danie van Niekerk (Wingfield SupaPolo).

Charl Arangies (Stradale Audi R8) will lead the G&H Transport Extreme Supercar grid, with his closest opponents such as Dayne Angel (Autohaus Porsche 911 GT2), Franco Scribante (Porsche 911), Marcel Angel (Autohaus Ferrari 488), Jonathan du Toit ( Lamborghini Huracan), Gianni Giannoccaro (BISC Lamborghini Gallardo) and Ben Morgenrood (Lexus IS-F).

2022 Extreme Festival Killarney Opener
Franco Scribante (Porsche 911) returns to the G&H Transport Extreme Supercar arena. Photo: Reynaert Gelderblom.

Frontrunners in the Compcare Polo Cup category include local hero Jurie Swart (Bullion IT Polo), Dawie van der Merwe (Universal Polo), Clinton Bezuidenhout (Stu Davidson Polo), Jagger Robertson (Liqui Moly Polo), Kwanda Mokoena (Stradale Polo ) and Xolela Njambuxa (VW Motorsport Polo).

Nicholas van Weely (Magnificent Paints Van Diemen) could be the man to beat in the Investchem F1600 races, challenged by the likes of Jarrod Waberski (DAW Mygale), Alex Vos (DV Building Mygale), Andrew Schofield (Safair Mygale), Josh le Roux (Formula 1600), Delon Thompson (Mygale) and Siyabonga Mankomkwana (Investchem Mygale).

In addition to reigning champion Graeme van Breda (Stefanutti Stocks ZX10), Gareth Bezuidenhout (Kawasaki ZX10), David Enticott (Kawasaki ZX10), Trevor Westman (Wayward ZX10), Travis Naude (BUCO ZX10) will be among the leaders in the Sunbet Kawasaki ZX10 heats . and Sanjiv Singh (SAS Consult ZX10).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *