Categories
Business Tech World

Russia partially restricts Facebook access in the country

Russian authorities have announced that they will partially restrict Facebook in the country. This news comes after the social media platform reportedly restricted the accounts of four Russian media outlets after… Russian invasion from Ukraine† The Russian communications regulator accused Facebook of violating “fundamental human rights” by restricting the accounts of these Russian media. Also read – Ukrainian tech minister calls on Tim Cook to block access to the App Store in Russia

According to the statement by the Russian Technology and Communications Regulator: “On February 24, Roskomnadzor sent requests to the administration of Meta Platforms, Inc. to remove the restrictions imposed by the social network Facebook on Russian media and explain the reason for their introduction. The owners of the social network ignored Roskomnadzor’s demands.” Also read – Tech companies including Apple, Facebook and Uber respond to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine

It added: “On February 24, Roskomnadzor sent requests to the administration of Meta Platforms, Inc. [to] remove the restrictions imposed by the social network Facebook on Russian media and explain the reason for their introduction.” Also read – Ukraine crisis: Chipmakers expect limited impact on chip shortage

In response to Roskomnadzor’s statement, Meta’s president of global affairs, Nick Clegg, tweeted that the social media platform has refused to comply with the Russian government’s request “to stop fact-checking and labeling content posted on Facebook.” by four Russian state media organizations.”

Clegg adds that as a result of their actions, Russia has decided to restrict the use of his services in the country.

For the inexperienced, Facebook has been set up a “Special Operations Center” that includes experts (including native speakers) to respond in real time and “keep a close eye on the situation” and act as quickly as possible.

In addition, Facebook has also introduced a “lock profile” tool for users in Ukraine. It is “a one-click tool for people in Ukraine to lock down their account by quickly applying existing privacy settings and new features. When their profile is locked, people who are not their friends will not be able to download or share their profile picture or see posts on their timeline.”





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *